MAGNUM CHOCOLATE PARTY 2015

BLOG POST: 22

IMG_20150902_150629_edit

Hi Dear Readers!

                I know I’ve not been writing for quite a long time, as I have been a lot busy with my university earlier and then my intern-ship. But I’ve tried to keep you guys updated over instagram. As people among you who follow me over social sites would know that I flew to Karachi this weekend  for the first time to attend the very buzz making Magnum Chocolate Party 2015.
                Here I present you my review to the evening full of Chocolate, Fashion and Glamour. The party was my 1st event in karachi, so I was clueless how would it be, with expectations so high I stepped forward. There was a Selfie mirror installed at the entrance where I first registered my presence and moved on to the chocolate carpet. With a lot of faces seen before in lahore or over social platforms I could spot hardly people dressed up in brown (that I actually like, as I’m personally not fond of dress codes and theme parties). The brown carpet was set up beside the sea side where a light bulbs structural #MagnumParty15 was floating over the water with a larger & darker view. And a brown carpet shining with celebrities on the opposite side. The event started comparatively late (well throughout Lahore is criticised for having a late start and midnight end, some thing similar happened here too) with getting into the main hall which was amazingly decorated by RAK Associates, With chocolate brown Interiors and perfect amount of hinting of gold. There were separate lounges for guests of the designers participating, a make your magnum bar and a ramp in the center of the hall, loved the idea of a drinks bar on the start of the ramp which was very amazingly utilized during the fashion presentation. Though I didn’t liked the large octagon shaped ending of the ramp.
             The event featured 2 chocolate inspired installations by Fahad Hussayn & Ali Xeeshan and 5 Chocolate Inspired capsule collections designed by Shehla Chatoor, Maheen Karim, Republic by Omar Farooq, Elan by Khadijah Shah and Nomi Ansari.
         Fahad Hussayn’s installation called “The Grail Of Chocolate” with a 3D constructed sculptural piece in the center entirely constructed with Magnum bars sticks, with 2 mannequins in a trailed gown leaning towards the Grail (center piece). Ali Xeeshan displayed an eight feet tall dress constructed with golden forms made of paper and an embellished lehanga used as a lining. I Personally feel that the fashion showcasing designers took away all the lime light while the installation designers were quite side lined, Maybe because the displays were place in the hall ends where you hardly expect anything to be else then tech booths and security checks. Plus, with no spot lighting over the installations killed their impact and they didn’t got the required viewer ship plus these designers should also have been called upon the ramp among the other designers at the end or atleast the installations should have been places beside the ramp.
ENrHld5YuX_GR9SniVuL02CLAkJ0uKWnLNtIqWS1PZo_edit htTISFMg5Nm8OWhC4QwCxYKhn4q1LmL1tmAl7v4fVXU_edit
               Anyways moving on to the fashion presentation. Shehla Chatoor Opened the evening with her amazingly accessorized collection with jewellery in collaboration with “The Outhouse Jewellery”. The collection began with  with a wrapper inspired printed dress and then moving from the hard crust chocolate coating outside to the smooth & soft ice cream inside. A special mention the amazing clutches designed specially inspired from Magnum. I loved the choice of her models featuring my favorites like Zara & Nooray. Sohai Ali Aabroo was a good option and that left no ingredient remaining in her collection but she needs to improve her ramp walking skills, though I saw Tabesh working a lot on her walk back stage but still she failed to make a mark with such professional models around.
G14-yAnps-u2RXPbgRxgntutVJ7RvYLKubOvB_gWmncThe next was Maheen karim, she presented something that were like an under grad designing for an inter institute fashion event. Her collection lacked the every factor to be a success. The colors, prints, silhouettes every thing was very odd to be believed a chocolate collection.
AFBts_vrgM0R8JRX_g2opXzkrUGhmVojzYVArRyY00c
Then came the turn of Republic by Omar Farooq who is very acclaimed for his menswear could also not fit into the frame. The trench coat over husnain lehri, the super fitted pants and sweater over Abbas Jafri, the simple office peon fitting shirt over Tabish Oza and the Cream Shaded DB Coat and Shopper Bag fitting pants over Shehzad Noor We’re a Big Flop Maybe if the looks would have been shuffled a bit they won’t look that bad. The only look I liked among these and I would want for me someday was the brown sweat shirt.
UNPda-1_2aka8LQRqSQNF7ABITuQXQHjwRhrYjqHrVc
Up next was Elan by Khadijah Shah Who undoubtedly managed to put the perfect amount of glamour into the sing show. Her printed gowns and contemporary cuts made a very appreciate-able appearance over the ramp, loved the one side drop hair looks and a special mention to the waistline embellished belts.
8DNiBOFm4G0XHp453rJJa4tEz8n6nT2jGfltGHja8Cg
The last to showcase was Nomi Ansari who presented a collection inspired from the flavors and toppings offered for a customized Magnum Bar. Utilizing them into prints and forming basic silhouettes with simple high voluminous pony(s) for the hair. I liked the look on Amna Baber, the gradation striped floor length gown.
rKTsQJMm9zEyLKFqXUiBy5KYgM69VVADbE1qA-Pg5wQ_edit
          After the showcase the event turned to an after party where the music was handed over to the DJ for the night who was from Dubai, I must say she did an amazing job count stop my self swing & shaking ( a bit) throughout. Overall I really enjoyed the event with a great company by my amazing blogger friends from karachi. Hoping to see Karachi again Soon.
Thankyou for visiting, for more updates on fashion stay tuned or follow in instagram @nawabzadamkb
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment